SCSAE Professional Awards

SCSAE's Association Executives of the Year

In 1985, the South Carolina Society of Association Executives established an Association Executive of the Year Award as a part of the annual awards program. The award recognizes the most outstanding association manager based on leadership, management, communications, and administrative skills exhibited on behalf of his or her association.

Congratulations to Janet Jordan and Nilda Padgett, the 2023 Association Executives of the Year, and to Beth Hilton, the 2023 Associate Member of the Year!

1985        Patrick E. Watson
                SC Automobile Dealers Association

1986        E. Bart Cox
                SC Beer Association

1987        Richard F. Davis
                SC Association of Realtors

1988        William F. Ross
                SC Petroleum Council

1989        Robert R. Scott
                SC Forestry Association

1990        B. Kelly Smith
                Mining Association of SC

1992        H. Elizabeth Gressette, Ph.D.
                Palmetto State Teachers Association

1993        Lollie B. Coward
                SC Association of Certified Public Accountants

1994        Jeannie M. (Sissy) Henry
                SC School Boards Association

1995        John L. Caudle, II
                SC Law Enforcement Officers Association

1996        S. H. (Sammy) Hendrix
                Carolinas AGC

1997        J. Richards (Rick) Todd
                SC Trucking Association, Inc.

1998        Julian S. Barton, Jr.
                SC Farm Bureau Federation

1999        Julia D. (Dena) Feagin
                SC Automobile Dealers Association

2000        Jeffrey B. Moore, CAE
                SC Sheriffs' Association

2001        James M. (Jim) Hatchell
                SC Merchants Association

2002        James R. (Jim) Bracewell
                SC Pharmacy Association

2003        Ina Edens

2004        John Cone, CAE
                Home Builders Association of SC

2005        Joe Jones, III
                Jones, McAden & Associates, Inc.

2006        Kathleen K. (Kathy) Williams, CAE
                SC Association of Counties

2007        E. Sims Floyd, Jr.
                SC Automobile Dealers Association

2008        Gloria L. Freeman
                SC Manufacturers Alliance

2009        Alan B. Davis
                National Association for Campus Activities

2010        Erin P. Hardwick, CAE
                SC Association of CPAs

2011        Michael Fields
                SC Petroleum Marketers Association

2012        Tish Anderson, IOM
                SC Chamber of Commerce

2013        Leslie Hope Clark
                Carolinas AGC

2014        Frank Sheppard, CAE
                Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of South Carolina (IIABSC)

2015        Reva Brennan, MPA, CAE, IOM
                SC Association of CPAs

2016        Alexa Stillwell, IOM
                Columbia Chamber of Commerce

2017        Douglas O'Flaherty, IOM
                SC Restaurant & Lodging Association

2018        Gwen Hampton, MSW, CMP
                South Carolina School Boards Association

2019        Donna Croom
                South Carolina Workers' Compensation Education Association 

2021        Hannah Pittman, CAE
                South Carolina Association of School Administrators

2022        Adam B. Jones
                Jones, McAden & Associates, LLC

2023        Nilda Padgett, SCAC
                Janet Jordan, Meetings, Management, and More

SCSAE's Associate of the Year

Since 1996, SCSAE has recognized an outstanding associate member of the Society. These members have demonstrated continuous involvement and support of SCSAE through his or her participation in activities and programs.

1996        Barry Miller
                Record Breakers Mobile Disc Jockey Service

1997        Pamela Shelley Smith, CMP
                Ocean Creek Resort

1998        Alex Gregory
                Wild Dunes Resort

1999        Dee Simons
                Clarion Town House Hotel

2000        Douglas O'Flaherty
                Sheraton Hotel & Convention Center

2001        Anna Lillemoen
                Myrtle Beach Convention Center

2002        Connie Nuckolls, CMP
                Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort

2003        Shelley Julian
                Charleston Place Hotel

2004        Chris Hendrix, CMP
                Charleston Area Convention & Visitors Bureau

2005        Marlo Willis, CMP
                Crowne Plaza Resort

2006        Kathy Flowe, CMP
                Alabama Theatre

2007        Ryan Herron, CMP
                Greenville CVB

2008        Steve Williams
                Columbia Marriott

2009        Randi Sullivan
                Radisson Hotel Columbia & Conference Center

2010        Joy Bryant
                Embassy Suites Columbia

2011        Dee Dee Holden
                TD Convention Center

2012        Melissa Salem
                Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel

2013        Cindy Beckham
                Hilton Head Marriott Resort and Spa

2014        Ursula Grant
                Myrtle Beach Convention & Visitors Bureau

2015        CeCe Corbin
                Westin Savannah

2016        Chris Hendrix, CMP
                Charleston Area Convention & Visitors Bureau

2017        Karolyn Stone, CHSP, CMP
                Marriott Columbia

2018        Lindsey Brown
                Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort and Spa Grande Dunes

2019        Will Anthony
                Wild Dunes Resort

2021        Courtney Goodwin LaMountain 
                Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

2022        Patricia Byrd 
                OneSpartanburg, Inc

2023        Beth Hilton 
                Hyatt House + Hyatt Place Charleston